Book Review: Before I Fall

enhanced-29125-1399667812-1

Another Lauren Oliver books to review after “Vanishing Girls”. I pick up “Before I Fall” from my bookshelf because recently, my TBR list getting longer and longer so I need to start reading everyday in order to decrease my to-be-read list.

Actually, I read “Before I Fall” way too early than “Vanishing Girls” but I have the urge to write the review because I, sincerely, like this book. More than I love “Vanishing Girls”. I like the story quite a bit, at first I thought this book would talking about love-triangle-cliche and other high school stuff, but it was more than that.

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Maybe you think that this book was a dark book. No, it was not. I know, this book contains after death story, and a little bit supernatural touch, but how Sam dealt with the fact that she was died, crushed my heart a little bit. If you were a fan of “If I Stay” series by Gayle Forman, then I suggest you to read this book. Though they didn’t had the same plot story, but the general theme is same. Both of them had a quality that you can’t forget in the end of the story. Besides, I adore the two authors so much!

tumblr_mkw6y1OR8s1rsyukao1_r2_500

“Before I Fall” told in Sam point of view. Sam itself was a popular senior in her high school. She dated a popular football player, she made friends with other girls who sat in the same table everyday, and everyone in her school knows her (or can I say ‘scared’ of her?).

Sam wasn’t a good characters. No, scratch that. She was a bitch. She was shallow, self-centered, egoistical, and really mean. She blow away her sisters, she judged people as she liked, she bullied her school friends who was misfit, and she done something very terrible.

I agree with the review I read in Goodreads: I hate the beginning of this book and I doubt that anyone did. Samantha and her friends do not come across as people you would want to be friends with. They are cruel, unlikable, and the worst part is they don’t even seem to care. They’re bullies, plain and simple, and some of their actions can be hard to read.

And one day, she was realized that universe didn’t revolve around her. As you read in the blurb, Sam died in car crash. She caught in terrible accident after party in “Cupid Day”. Sam sat in passenger seat, something happen with the driver, and the next thing she knows she was died. It was so painful to read this part, you will feel the ache in the gut, but can’t stop reading because Lauren Oliver wrote this in the beautiful way.

The next morning, Sam wake up in her bed. Wearing the same clothes she wore yesterday, with the same action: her mother came to her bedroom, her sister annoy her in the morning, and she was late to go to school. Sam feels terrified because she realized that she lived her life before the accident. She did something terrible in that day and she knows maybe she need to fix things so she can die peacefully.

“But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”
― Lauren Oliver, Before I Fall

In the first day, Sam still the same girl. Mean, self-absorbed, and didn’t think about people around her except her self. She woke up in confuse the next day, because she still lived in the day before the accident. She did the same thing again and again, without knowing where the side of her life that need to be fix. Until she knows. That she was here to saved someone.

And for the ending… it was not a happy ending, but I also can’t say it was a sad ending. Everyone has their own ending for their story. But, I can’t help to feel pity for Sam because her story had to be end like that. Over all, I cheers Sam for her brave act and kindness. And also, I got the same feeling after reading this book because somehow, something between Sam and Kent made me remember a-punch-in-a-gut after reading “If He Had Been With Me”.

After reading this book, I realized that I need to live my life to the fullest and never leave the opportunities pass by without doing nothing. Life is precious and every single choice we make has an effect. It was way too inspirational and thought-provoking for me.

“Here’s another thing to remember: hope keeps you alive. Even when you’re dead, it’s the only thing that keeps you alive.”
― Lauren Oliver, Before I Fall

tumblr_m0jtgd0f9O1qlccb8o1_1280

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Before I Fall

  1. 💞 says:

    I found this review after reading your vanishing girls review. I bought vanishing girls and wanted to know the review. That’s how i found your blog. I’ve read before i fall and not really into it because my favorite genre is fantasy and i thought that before i fall is a weird book, idk why just weird for me, may be because i’m not familiar with this kind of book. And when you said that you like before i fall than vanishing girls i suddenly got nervous, haha

    • Puji Eka Lestari says:

      Hi! Thank you for reading and commenting 😉 To be honest, there is the reason why I said that #BeforeIFall way better than #VanishingGirls. Simply because the twist in the first book is way more realistic to me than #VanishingGirls (not talking about Sam who live her life in the same day for a week, but the reason behind it). But don’t get me wrong: #VanishingGirls was great though. It was quite complex and fast-paced so you never get bored.

      Anyway, if you decide to read it, don’t forget to tell me after finishing that book! I’d love to hear your point of view about #VanishingGirls. Happy reading. Have a nice day! 😀

  2. 💞 says:

    Hey I just finished vanishing girls! Surprisingly i didnt get bored at all. Without knowingly i’ve reached the last page. So all this time Nick had a mental disorder and acted as Dara? So mind blowing. I thought Dara was dead on the earlier pages, but then she got point of view on the book, somehow I felt relieved. And knowing she’s actually dead made feel sorry for Dara and even Nick. I do not have sister and I don’t know losing one can make you so broken. Btw reading Sam lived her life in the same day for a week made me so tired lol. Do you read the other Lauren Oliver books? Like delirium? That’s good too

    • Puji Eka Lestari says:

      Hi! Sorry for the late reply. OMG, I’m so glad you like it! I know, the story and the suspense were great, right? I also enjoy the conflict as well! Anyway, if you loved to read a fast paced story without getting bored, I recommend you to read #GirlOnTheTrain by Paula Hawkins!

      I haven’t read #Delirium. Is it great? Seems like I have to check and drop that book in my TBR list 😉

  3. 💞 says:

    Okay i’ll read girl on the trains next. Ow I have to read your review about that book first. Yass delirium is good. It’s dystopian btw, idk whether you like dystopian or not. I’ve read the first and second book, delirium and pandemonium. I was about to buy the third book, requiem, but get distracted by vanishing girl so i bought vanishing girl instead. I really shouldn’t go to the bookstore alone, i could be impulsive about books. Haha

    • Puji Eka Lestari says:

      Normally, I don’t like dystopian books but since Lauren Oliver write those series, I decided to give it a try. And yes, I bought #Delirium yesterday and will start reading it after I finished read #TinyPrettyThings (I’m already half way through and it was great, so far!).

      God, you are the same with me! As John Green said in #TFiOS that ‘pain is demand to be felt’, so here I am proudly said that ‘good book is demand to be read’. It’s not a shame to bought a lot of books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

